Buyer’s guide · written by Amfion
Which booking assistant
fits a small business?
Five kinds of business, five honest answers, and three of them are not Amfion. Then a table of what each option books into and how it bills, with the date we checked.
Amfion wrote this guide and sells one of the options. Competitor facts are as advertised on their own public pages on October 13, 2026; we did not run their products. Recheck any vendor before you buy.
- Where must the final booking be written?your current software, a calendar, or a new scheduler
- Shortlist
- Which channel is the front door?phone, website, texting, email
- Plan
- What is your busy month?calls, minutes, threads
- Price
- What must a person handle?the exceptions you will not automate
- Rules
Verdict by need
Start from your situation, not from a product.
Amfion fits
Customers message before they call, and you have a calendar you like
A conversational assistant on the website and email. Amfion Digital answers questions from your own prices, books into its scheduler or Cal.com, and captures the rest as leads. If you only need a calendar people can click, a booking link is cheaper.
Amfion fits
The phone is your front door and you cannot answer it
An AI receptionist that books, not just answers. Amfion Front Desk answers the call, books on it and transfers to you with a brief. Goodcall and Smith.ai also answer calls; check what each writes the booking into, and what a busy month costs in their billing unit.
Choose something else
You just need a link people can book from
A booking-link tool. Calendly, Cal.com or Square Appointments show your calendar and take the booking. No conversation, no phone, nothing to teach. Amfion is more than you need here, and Cal.com pairs with it later if you outgrow the link.
Choose something else
You want trained people answering, not software
A human answering service. Nexa and Smith.ai’s receptionist plans staff your line with people who follow your instructions and take bookings. You pay per call or per minute of a person’s time and set up nothing on your website.
Choose something else
Your practice-management software already ships a receptionist
Check the native option first. Talopet advertises an AI receptionist inside its grooming platform; MoeGo has described one as upcoming. Amfion does not write into either today, so if bookings must live there, the native option is the honest shortlist.
Side by side
What each option books into, and how it bills.
The billing unit decides what a busy month costs. Compare it before the headline price.
| Criterion | Amfion Front Desk | Goodcall Starter | Smith.ai AI Receptionist, Pro | Booking-link tools | Human answering service |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | AI front desk: answers and books on phone, chat, text, email | AI phone agent | AI phone receptionist | Calendly, Cal.com, Square Appointments: a calendar people book from | e.g. Nexa: trained receptionists on your line |
| Advertised price | $249 / month; Digital $99 without the phone | $79 / month per agent | $150 / month | Free tiers and paid plans; not checked for this guide | Quote-based; not published in our check |
| Billing unit | Answered-call minutes (200 included, then $0.49/min) + 3,000 conversations | 100 unique customers, then $0.79 each; no per-minute charges | 75 real calls, then $2.50 per call; test and simulated calls counted separately | Per seat or per user, typically | Per call or per minute of receptionist time, typically |
| Books into | Its own scheduler or Cal.comGoogle Calendar busy times respected; bookings mirrored out | Vendor-listed integrationsnot tested by us | Vendor-listed integrationsnot tested by us | Its own calendarthe tool is the calendar | Whatever you give them access toa person enters it |
| Website chat, email, texting | Includedchat and email on every paid plan; texting on Front Desk and up, or Digital with the voice add-on | Not stated on the pricing page | Separate products | No conversation | Varies; phone first |
| Hands off to a person | Warm transfer with a brief; takeover from the inbox; rules for who reaches you | Advertised; not tested | Advertised; not tested | Not applicable | It is a person |
| Practice-management software (MoeGo, Urable, …) | Not connected todayyou keep it as the system of record | Not stated for these; check per product | Not stated for these; check per product | Separate calendar | If you grant access |
Tested vs claimed
What we can show you, and what we cannot.
- Live phone demonstrationHarbor Paws Grooming, a fictional salon
- Call it
- Live website chat demonstrationsgrooming and auto detailing
- Chat with them
- Booked, handed-off and refused scenariosshown with the record each leaves
- On this site
- Your own servicesfree trial, test bookings from your dashboard
- No card
- Prices and unitsread from public pricing pages
- October 13, 2026
- Integration claimsnamed on vendor pages, not exercised
- Unverified
- Call quality, accuracy, outcomes
- Unverified
- Customer counts and testimonials
- Not relied on
Questions
Choosing, answered plainly.
What should a small business decide first?
Where the final booking must be written. If it has to land in software you already run and cannot leave, that decides the shortlist before any feature does. If a calendar you like, Cal.com, or a new scheduler is acceptable, every category on this page is open to you.
Is an AI booking assistant overkill for a very small team?
If customers rarely ask questions before booking, a booking link is enough. The assistant earns its place when the questions, the reschedules and the missed calls are eating time you sell: a one-person shop with a full phone is exactly the case it was built for.
How do I compare prices when every vendor bills a different unit?
Convert your own month into each unit. Count your answered calls and their average length, your unique callers, and your chat and email threads, then price a normal month and a busy month on each plan. The headline price matters less than what the unit does in your busy month.
How did Amfion test the alternatives?
We did not run them. Competitor facts on this page are as advertised on the vendors’ own public pages, read on October 13, 2026, and are labeled that way. Amfion’s own behavior is what we operate on the demonstration businesses linked from this page; you can call or chat with them yourself.
When should I not choose Amfion?
When bookings must be written into practice-management software Amfion does not connect to, when you want trained humans rather than software answering, or when a booking link already covers your needs. This page names alternatives for each of those cases.
What does Amfion cost?
Digital is $99 a month for website chat, your booking page and email; Front Desk is $249 and adds a local number for calls and texts; Growth is $449. Every plan starts with a 14-day free trial and no card; the full breakdown and a calculator are on the pricing page.